ysis of competitive la

in So alt sind wir 30.12.2019 06:12
von xuezhiqian123 • 950 Beiträge

I have now had four books published and this is my story.

I had never actually planned to write a book but I had been trading stock markets for many years and in 1998 was approached by the Financial Times Pitman Publishing Company to write a book about my methods. This book went on to be a best seller!

In my naivety I thought this was my ticket to writing glory and I thought I would have no problem when it came to my next book. How wrong I was. It was the same turgid round of letters to agents and publishers followed by a rash of rejection slips ? how the mighty are fallen!!

This is when I realised an important truth. There are two solid reasons why it is much better to self-publish:

chances of finding an agent or a publisher are slim. Unless you are a Z class celebrity in which case you should have no problem!

importantly you make more money when you self-publish.

Here are the three stages I went through: book was commissioned by established publishers and they sold 5000 copies ? I got ?5000 (around $8500).

2.I teamed up with a web site designer and internet marketing man and we sold 5000 copies ? I got ?20 Cheap Damien Harris Jersey ,000 (around $34,000) ? a big difference!

3.I now do the web design and marketing myself ? now I get 100%!

Let me put this in perspective. The established publishers sold 5000 copies but I did a fair bit of that selling ? at one speech I gave we sold 100 copies in the post-speech book signing session ? that 15 minute session, which I guess was my 15 minutes of fame, accounted for 2% of their total sales!

In terms of revenue I now get the same from selling 400 books as I used to get from the publishers selling 5000!